History of church - Scotland's Churches Trust
St Margaret’s Church
Opened in1856 by the United Presbyterian Church and enlarged 1870. Its central location in the village of St Margaret's Hope led to it being designated as the principal place of worship for the Parish of South Ronaldsay & Burray. The Communion table and font are from the former St Lawrence's Church, Burray.
St Peter’s Church
This was the parish church for the eastside and the north part of South Ronaldsay when it was first established. It is used for worship now in the summer months of July and August and is often used for funeral services as it is surrounded by the cemetery.
The inside of the church is of historical interest as the pews can be turned around to make long, thin communion tables. The church is believed to have been built in 1642, probably on the site of an earlier church. By 1795 the church was standing roofless and it was renovated in 1801.
Visitors can get keys from Margaret Laughton 831 706
Old St Mary’s
Is in the very south of the south parish at Burwick. Also historically known as the Lady Kirk. It is on the site where the first Christian missionaries reputedly arrived in Orkney. The church houses a rounded grey whin stone that is carved with 2 footprints and is believed to be a Pictish coronation stone.
History of the church in South Ronaldsay and Burray - documents/church-history-of-south-ronaldsay.pdf