Login

ORKNEY U3A

University of the Third Age


Dedicated to the pursuit of leisure and learning for retired people and people not in full-time employment

 

PROGRAMME

2019 - 2020

 

Thurs 17 Jan 2019          Willie Tulloch - Former days in the Lighthouse Service

 

Thurs 21 February          Jackie Delaney - Fraud awareness and avoiding scams

 

Thurs 21 March               AGM + Photoquiz

 

Thurs 18 April                Kristin Linklater - What is Voice?

 

Thurs 16 May                 Fiona Grahame - The Orkney Suffragists

 

Thurs 13 June                Tom Miller - America: sense and nonsense - an expat perspective

 

          Thurs 15 August             Liam McArthur - How Holyrood works

 

          Thurs 19 September      Penny Martin - The colourful underwater life in Orkney waters

 

          Thurs 17 October           Lynn Bartlett - Making stained glass

 

          Thurs 21 November       David Taylor - 'A fine line between hunger and sufficiency':

The struggle for survival in eighteenth-century Orkney

 

          Thurs 12 December        Christmas Lunch

 

Thurs 16 Jan 2020          Catriona McCallum - Dietary Supplements

 

Thurs 20 February          Gaynor Jones - Life in Shufat Refugee Camp, Palestine

 

Thurs 19 March               AGM

 

Thurs 16 April                Caroline Butterfield - A Norwegian Adventure: 2000 miles by bike

 

Thurs 21 May                Phyllis Lee - Older is better: insights into the long lives of elephants

 

Meetings start at 2.00pm (unless otherwise stated)
in the MacGillivray Room, Kirkwall Library

 

Orkney U3A Groups

Photography (2 Groups)
Bird Watching :: Botany :: Walking
Music Appreciation :: Play Reading
Orkney Straw Work :: Craft :: Scrabble

Further details on the
Groups Page

Orkney U3A Chairman: Peter Slater
Tel: (01856 850148)


Individual membership currently £10.00
 

Email: orkneyu3a@gmail.com

 

 

site map | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement