St Andrews Hurricanes - Winners of the Lloyds TSB Trophy 2009


 St Andrews Hurricanes - Winners of the Mount Cup 2009


 Stenness Falcons - Winners of the Shore Shield 2009

 Glaitness United - Runners Up in the Mount Cup 2009

Glaitness Rovers - Winners of the Wooden Spoon 2009


 The 2009 Gilmour Shield Competition for primary schools took place on Saturday 13th June at Picky.

Nineteen primary school football teams competed for the Gilmour Shield at Picky, including for the first time Stronsay. Also representing the North Isles were Westray. An exciting days competition saw Stenness deservedly winning the competition after a hard fought 1-0 win against Papdale A in the final.

The first round of the competition saw teams playing in a league format of 4 groups with the winners and runners-up progressing to the quarter finals. Papdale A convincingly won Group 1 winning all four of their games with Stromness B as runners-up. Stenness were convincing winners of Group 2 also winning their four games with St Andrews B coming second. Group 3 proved to be tightest group with three teams ending on 12 points. Goal difference proved decisive with St Andrews A and Papdale B narrowly edging out Glaitness A. Group 4 was also very competitive with three of the six games ending as no-score draws, but Glaitness B and Papdale C eventually qualified.

The quarter final matches other than the Glaitness B versus Stromness B match which the former won by 4 goals to nil were closely fought affairs. Two of the matches went to extra time, with St Andrews A scoring late to beat Papdale C by 1-0. The Papdale A versus St Andrews B remained goalless after extra time and went into a penalty shoot-out. Despite failing to score with their first two penalties and St Andrews B converting both their opening kicks, Papdale A somehow managed to emerge victorious 3-2. Stenness gained the final semi-final berth after edging out Papdale B 3-2.

In the semi final between Papdale A and St Andrews A, Sam Croy was the star scoring a hat-trick as Papdale A cruised to an excellent 4-1 victory. The other semi-final was a much closer game with a single strike from Andrew Harrold proving decisive as Stenness overcame Glaitness B.

The final was a hard fought affair played by two closely matched teams. After a goalless first half, Callum Crawford scored the single goal in the second half that won the Gilmour Shield for Stenness. This was a thoroughly deserved victory for a Stenness team that won all seven games that they played in the competition.

At the end of the competition OYDG Chairman Jim Cormack congratulated the winning team as well as all the teams taking part and thanked the referees and sponsor. He particularly thanked Michael Delday who was stepping down after organising the competition for a number of years and presented him with a gift on behalf of OYDG. An enjoyable days competition ended with sponsor Bob Gilmour presenting the runner-up medals to Padale A and the winners medals and Gilmour Shield to Stenness.

site map | cookie policy | privacy policy